Warning: preg_match(): Unknown modifier '-' in /home/customer/www/apclanguages.com/public_html/wp-content/plugins/sitepress-multilingual-cms/inc/absolute-links/absolute-links.class.php on line 176

Listening level : LOW | A little about me!

por Sep 12, 2018Listening Low0 Comentarios

1) Listen to 3 people answering the following questions and see what you can understand!
2) Listen again and read the text to understand even more!
3) Ask me any questions in the comments and I will answer you ASAP.

What is your name?
How old are you?
Where are you from?
Who are you family?
Do have any hobbies?
What can you do well?
What can´t you do very well?
What is your typical daily routine?
Do you have any pets?
What is your favourite film and why?
Who is your best friend? What is he/she like?

Hello! My name is Katherine, I am 36 years old. I´m from the Uk, England, specifically a small village called Alton. Alton is in the countryside and we.. there are 1000 people, it´s very small village.
I have a small family, there´s my mum, my dad and I have just one brother, but my brother is married and he has three children; he has boys, they are twins and they are 7 years old and a girl who is 10.
I have a lot of hobbies, but I don´t have very much time, I like to sing, but it´s usually in the shower and I really like cooking; I try to do cooking at least once a week, every week.
What can I do well? I can sing well, I can cook well, and I think I am a good teacher.
What can´t I do well? Well, I´m not very good at playing football or doing any sports in general.
My typical day is, I wake up very early and I walk my dog. And after I walk my dog I have some breakfast then I have a shower, I get dressed and then I start work. At midday I usually stop and have some lunch, then I do some more work and in the evening, I like to watch TV and then maybe read a book before I go to bed.
I do have some pets, I have a dog, his name is Yako and he is 11 years old, nearly 12. He is quite old.
My favourite film is The Little Mermaid because it reminds me of when I was a little girl and I like the songs.
My best friend is called Louise, she is in England and she is very very kind and very generous and we are very very similar and she is my best friend!


1) Katherine
2) 36 years old
3) Mother, father, brother, Sister-in-law, niece and 2 nephews
4) Singing and cooking
5) Sing, cook and teach
6) Sports in general
7) I wake up very early – I walk my dog – I have some breakfast – I have a shower- I get dressed – I start work – have some lunch – work – watch TV – read a book – go to bed.
8) A dog
9) The Little Mermaid – the songs
10) Louise: Kind and generous

Hello my name is Stevie, I am 40 years old and I am from England.
In my family there is me, my sister and my nephew.
I like to play the guitar and go snorkelling.
I am quite good at playing the guitar and I´m not very good at languages.
My daily routine is, checking my work emails before I get out of bed and before I have breakfast. Then I have a shower and I go to work.
Sadly, I don´t have any pets at this moment.
My favourite film is the Shawshank Redemption. I just love the characters and the storyline.
My best friend is Kat, she is very loyal and very funny.

EXTRA COMPREHENSION QUESTIONS (Answers under transcript)
Where is Alton?
How old is Hilary´s house?
Where does Hilary´s son live?
How old are Marcus´children?
Who is Doreen?
What do they like to do together?
What does Hilary like to do while she watches TV?
Does Hilary like films?

My name is Hilary, I am 66 years old and I live in a small village called Alton which is in the middle of England. My house is 200 years old.
I have two children; Katherine, who is your teacher and a son called Marcus. He lives in the north east of England in a big city called Newcastle. He has 3 children, a daughter who is ten years old and seven-year-old twin boys.
I have a lovely neighbour and friend called Doreen and we love to have coffee together. Doreen, her husband and some of our other neighbours like to have meals together either at home or in a restaurant.
I have one big hobby; horse-riding. I go to a riding school once a week but previously I owned my own horse.
In the evenings if I am watching the television I like to knit.
I don´t like going to the cinema because I am not interested in films .

1) in the middle of England
2) 200 years old
3) Newcastle – North East of England
4) Girl – 10 , Boys (twins) – 7
5) neighbour and friend
6) Having coffee
8) No, she doesn´t

Share This